Forging University-Municipality Partnerships Towards Urban Sustainability

Forging University-Municipality Partnerships Towards Urban Sustainability

October 13, 2017


About the Conference

The 2017 Hixon Center for Urban Ecology’s annual conference will be co-convened by the City of New Haven and Yale’s Office of Sustainability. Leaders from universities and their host cities will discuss how municipalities and universities can work together to achieve sustainability goals.  The goal of the organizers of the conference is to inspire progress by sharing successful examples of university-municipality collaboration on sustainability efforts. 

The conference will be organized around three thematic panels which each will include four cities with paired speakers representing campus and municipalities describing a collaborative project. Through a Leadership Panel mayors and their university counterparts will broadly share their sustainability ambitions.

Location: Burke Auditorium, Kroon Hall, 195 Prospect Street, New Haven, CT 06511.

This event is free and open to the public.

The conference’s thematic panels with speakers representing campus and municipalities include:

Panel I: Leadership with New Haven Mayor Harp, Yale University President Salovey, Madison Mayor Soglin, UW Vice Chancellor Hoslet

Panel II: Transportation (Mass Transit and Bicycling) with Madison, Davis, Providence, and Minneapolis

Panel III: Stormwater and Resilience with Cambridge, Pittsburgh, Birmingham, and Baltimore

Panel IV: Climate Action with South Bend, Vancouver, Boulder, and Ann Arbor

Schedule of Events


Transportation Panel

Charles Kamp, Madison Metro Transit

Rob Kennedy, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Brian Abbanat, City of Davis Public Works Department

Leslie Mancebo, UC Davis Transportation Services

Al Dahlberg, Brown University

Martina Haggerty, City of Providence Department of Planning and Development

Steve Sanders, University of Minnesota

Simon Blenski, City of Minneapolis Public Works Department


Stormwater, Flood Management and Resilience Panel

Brian Goldberg '03 MEM, MIT’s Office of Sustainability

Kim Grove, Baltimore City Department of Public Works

Nancy Jones, Baltimore Neighborhood Indicators Alliance-Jacob France Institute

Grant Ervin, City of Pittsburgh

Rick Stafford, Carnegie Mellon University


Climate Action Panel

Jenna Jorns, The University of Michigan

Victoria Smith, University of British Columbia

Doug Smith, City of Vancouver

Therese Dorau, South Bend Office of Sustainability